About the Cosmetic Ingredient Review

The Cosmetic Ingredient Review was established in 1976 by the industry trade association (then the Cosmetic, Toiletry, and Fragrance Association, now the Personal Care Products Council), with the support of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the Consumer Federation of America. Although funded by the Council, CIR and the review process are independent from the Council and the cosmetics industry. CIR operates under a set of procedures.

General policy and direction are given by a 7-member Steering Committee chaired by the President and CEO of the Council, with a dermatologist representing the American Academy of Dermatology, a toxicologist representing the Society of Toxicology, a consumer representative representing the Consumer Federation of America, an industry scientist (the current chair of the Council's CIR Committee), Chair of the CIR Expert Panel, and the Council’s Executive Vice President for Science.

Panel Voting Members

Wilma F. Bergfeld, M.D., F.A.A.D.

Head of Clinical Research and
The Cleveland Clinic Foundation
One Clinic Center
9500 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44195-5001

Donald V. Belsito, M.D.
Leonard C. Harber Professor of Dermatology
Department of Dermatology
Columbia University
Medical Center
Herbert Irving Pavilion, 12th floor
161 Fort Washington Avenue
New York, NY 10032

Curtis D. Klaassen, Ph.D.
University Distinguished Professor
Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology,
and Therapeutics
School of Medicine
University of Kansas Medical Center
3901 Rainbow Blvd.
Kansas City, KS 66160-7319

Daniel C. Liebler, Ph.D.
President, Protypia, LLC
Adjunct Professor of Biochemistry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

James G. Marks, Jr., M.D.
Professor of Dermatology
Department of Dermatology
Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine
Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
P.O. Box 850
Hershey, PA 17033-0850

Lisa A. Peterson, Ph.D.
Professor of Environmental Health Sciences
University of Minnesota School of Public Health and Masonic Cancer Center
2231 6th St. SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Ronald C. Shank, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Department of Medicine and
Environmental Health Sciences Program
University of California, Irvine
19172 Jamboree Road
Irvine, CA 92697-1820

Thomas J. Slaga, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology
University of Texas Health Science
7703 Floyd Curl Drive MC 7764
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900

Paul W. Snyder, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Fellow IAPT Experimental Pathology Laboratories


Panel Liaison Members


Thomas Gremillion, J.D.
Director of Food Policy
Consumer Federation of America
1620 I Street, Suite 200
Washington, DC 20006

Alexandra Kowcz, M.B.A
Executive Vice President-Science
Personal Care Products Council
1620 L St Street, NW Suite 1200
Washington, DC 20036


Linda Katz, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Office of Cosmetics
and Colors
Chief Medical Officer, CFSAN
Food and Drug Administration
5100 Paint Branch Parkway, HFS-100
College Park, Maryland 20740

1620 L St NW Suite 1200
Washington DC 20036-4702
phone: 202-331-0651 fax: 202-331-0088

© 2016 Cosmetic Ingredient Review